Open Source Synergy: 5 reasons for developer to start open source and how to pitch it to your manager

Roman Sedov
6 min readAug 14, 2023

In my career I published more than 20 open source products: some of them were small tools that solve one problem, some of them were big libraries with hundreds of entities. The biggest one was Taiga UI which is a huge Angular UI Kit with more than 150 components that found its users all around the world, has 2700+ stars on Github, 900+ public projects using it on Github and a community of more than 1000 people.

After a couple of years in open source I can say that this was completely the right decision to publish it for everyone because it brings a lot of dividends to library maintainers, the company it came from and developers who use it every day for their work and projects.

This article is based on our experience and I cannot say that it will work for you and your company the same way but I hope our case can show you some unexpected benefits of making open source projects and maybe motivate you to start one.

I’ll give you five ideas why it can be good for you to do it. Moreover, I’ll expand each idea with a small speech for management in your company that can allow you to work on open source projects in working time for money.

1. Grow your personal brand

--

--